.

Residency Complaint Against Murphy Dismissed

School district parent Jennifer Crowder says she will pursue further legal action against the school committee member.

The Attleboro Election Commission voted unanimously Thursday evening at  to dismiss a residency complaint against School Committee member David Murphy. Jennifer Crowder, who filed the complaint, announced at the beginning of the hearing that she had accepted defeat. She said after the hearing that she would pursue other legal actions against Murphy.

Although the complaint alleged Murphy was not a resident of Attleboro last year when he filed to run for office and when he was elected, the commission was only willing to consider whether he was a resident in mid-July of this year, which is when Crowder filed the complaint. For this reason, Crowder acknowledged Thursday evening that she could not win.

This could just be the end of the first chapter of this story, rather than a conclusion because it appears Crowder is not finished.

"There are other avenues as to which I wish to contend with in regards to improper voting methods and also statements he made under the pain and penalty for perjury," Crowder said after the hearing.

Murphy declined to comment on Crowder's statement. With regard to the hearing, he said he wished he had been given more time to show all the evidence he had in his favor. Murphy was only allowed to make a brief presentation since the commission's decision was obvious once Crowder acknowledged defeat.

"We had 46 exhibits that spoke to my continuous residency from January 31, 2000 to the present," Murphy said. "I hope that anyone who is legitimately concerned about this issue takes the time to review at least some of that evidence. I also hope that everyone has better things to do than look through every little piece of it."

Some of the evidence can be found in the attachment to . Murphy said he would release further exhibits to Attleboro Patch soon.

Murphy added that not only is he currently an Attleboro resident, he lived in this city last year when he ran for office.

"Ms. Crowder's statement that I was not a resident at the time I ran for school committee is simply incorrect," he said.

Attleboro Patch will have more information on this story soon.

Sarah Curtis August 05, 2012 at 03:39 PM
I was at the registry on Tuesday in Attleboro....almost positive saw Murphy there....but once again his issues are not mine. The fact based time line..."the fan" has already been done regarding my issues with the school. APS & DESE should have a copy so go see them for it! I have spent almost this whole summer trying to fix this for our son so he can return to school SAFELY, I'm not going to rewrite it and take more time away from actual fun things we could be doing together. So if ur really interested in helping then get ahold of the docs and do something instead of just running ur trap!
Darren Major August 05, 2012 at 04:07 PM
Ms. Curtis, It's really hard to take you seriously when you post things like "I almost positive saw Murphy at the RMV". And unless you submit your personal information on a public forum, there would be no legal way I could just say I'd like to see someone's personal info about their child. That is just silly to post that as well. About your "trap" comments, it appears without me giving you any more shrift that you are doing a fine job of demonstrating ridiculous behavior. The issue remains that if you have issues and the parents have issue, why not pursue a independent efort by outside organizations if you (and plenty of others) continue to feel the Special Education needs in Attleboro are not being addressed. It's not my child I need to do something about but I would like to see the schools improve. If you just keep self-immolatng and attacking the same resource you have already deemed lacking than you aren't doing anything either........FACTS, not conjecture..Ms Curtis
Darren Major August 05, 2012 at 04:09 PM
Just sayin' I suspect there will be new faces who will stand up to do something in this town.....but your points about Ms Crowder are well said.
Darren Major August 05, 2012 at 04:27 PM
I would encourage everyone to read Ms. Curtis web page comments. She has claimed on her webpage to be in a lawsuit with the Norfolk school district and she currently stated extreme displeasure with Attleboro - People can form their own opinions from that but it is valuable information to know as to better gauge the energy and motivation
Kevin Curtis August 05, 2012 at 04:30 PM
@thefan First of all you can ask whatever you like as there is no law against that but menial stuff aside it's not our behavior that Is ridiculous its the behavior of the officials of our schools and city. As far as Sarah, she has done everything that is in her power so don't attack her for voicing her opinion that's what this space is for. She has filed with the state, followed the rules of engagement and had attended meetings. Now she is voicing her opinion and "attacking" as you say the same resources. There's only so much us citizens can accomplish so we have to use our voice by any means and if it starts to sound like a broken record that only means no one is addressing the issues.
Kevin Curtis August 05, 2012 at 04:33 PM
@to all Once all info is received by both parties we will gladly post the complaints on the website so everyone has the information and can help we're they think they can.
Darren Major August 05, 2012 at 05:15 PM
Kevin...... If you think I am attacking her then you are equally as pitiful......i can only respond to what has been posted and I believe I have fairly done so. Attacking an opinion usually means I don't like what you had to say about my thought.....I don't disagree and voiced my opinion - so your response in that area is spurious and frankly sad. The rest of your comment is true IMHO - I ask the same thing I asked Sarah - are you attacking the same resource to address your issues or have you tried alternavive sources. If you have and are not satisifed and the evidence is in your favor, there has to be a way out side of suing and if you had to do that, well it might be the right thing to do...I don't know and frankly say again. I have no dog in this hunt but I want Attleboro to move higher and the current situation is an embarassment - so FACTS - which is what I have been seeking not just from you but from everyone who continues to offer subjective opinion or comments. If the SC isn't the answer then there has to be another way but making a circus a bigger one isn't helping Attleboro nor its schools - this is not pointed at just the Curtis family o please don't say otherwise. If there is a high level of issues, then have it investigated or exposed - I hope there is an chance for that - and I wonder if you or Sarah have a future in politics - that too is a choice here - just concrete facts, Kevin - that's all i hope for so the city schools win
Jonathan Friedman (Editor) August 05, 2012 at 05:24 PM
"TheFan," you have come close to an Attleboro-Seekonk Patch record for most posts in one day. It is very strange to request something from a newspaper in a post on Patch. If you would like me to look into something, email me at jonathan.friedman@patch.com.
Darren Major August 05, 2012 at 05:31 PM
Jonathan, Perhaps you did not read my posts with detail......I was NOT requesting anything...i was merely responding to a silly post about suggesting my going to see someone else/s personal information which is of course not possible or legal. But since you offered, maybe i can offer something that you may consider doing - Thanks for the idea
Jonathan Friedman (Editor) August 05, 2012 at 05:34 PM
I read all your posts today "with detail." Thank you.
Jonathan Friedman (Editor) August 05, 2012 at 05:43 PM
I have received an email from "TheFan." Thank you for the message. I encourage more people to email with their thoughts and suggestions. I like hearing from the community members.
Sarah Curtis August 05, 2012 at 05:47 PM
@ the fan....I really hope you chose your words wisely. Pitiful??? We are the best advocates for our children...if you have children I too hope you would advocate for them at whatever the cost might be. Like I have said before and I will say it again...I will meet anyone who's interested in a public place and gladly let you read for yourselves everything I have been stating...So you can see just what kind of EMBARRASSMENT the city of Attleboro is allowing school admins to do to themselves. Also I am very interested in meeting you at one of these meetings regarding the issues within our district....Don't believe I've had the pleasure yet?? I will not give up, shut up, or sit down until our child's educational needs are met..If that bothers you well too bad, it's people like you that like to hide behind your "NAME" and talk all sorts of hogwash because it bothers you inside that you can't hide the truth anymore. Believe me I want nothing more than the Attleboro schools to be a success but not at the expense of MY CHILD!! So when people want to fess up to the mistakes that were made and laws that were broken maybe just maybe we could go forward with a resolution....But not until the admins that are allowing these laws to be broken be reprimanded for their actions. I am not looking to crucify anyone and I never wanted it to go this far, but we were left with no choice after every attempt by us was rejected...
Sarah Curtis August 05, 2012 at 05:48 PM
Cont. @ the fan...And as far as my Norfolk case...ya that interesting situation has it's ties to Attleboro as well.... Same law firm! And it goes on and on....Oh btw..the lawsuit in Norfolk was because my child was bullied so bad that he made threatening comments and was taken out of school by his pedi and a tutor was requested but they sued US saying he didn't deserve a tutor because he wasn't confined to a hospital bed....SERIOUSLY??? I am very devoted to my children and this has hurt my heart more than I could express but what better way for me for mend it but ADVOCATE for him and everyone else's child! Success for APS is what we are all striving for right????
Sarah Curtis August 05, 2012 at 05:56 PM
Also I attended a SC meeting in June...I then expressed some of the allegations. I voiced serious concerns and still not takin seriously..Nice real nice, how does that make a parent feel?? I would love nothing more than for this to get "out" sort of speak, alternative resources???...I've tried everything I can, but by all means if you know of some that can help me please I would accept with open arms. I am not suing anyone or any district so stop making false statements. I am counter suing Norfolk after them came after us with NO WARNING!! I just wish that some would take off their blinders and face the facts....AND THEY ARE UGLY!!!
Sarah Curtis August 05, 2012 at 06:01 PM
I know y'all afraid of the "big mouths", the ones that actually stand up and don't let others take advantage of them...But I sure would want that person on my side protecting the future of our children then the ones that just sit back, know what's being done and not done and DO ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!! It's sick... Just like be an accessory to a crime!! Ughh
Darren Major August 05, 2012 at 06:13 PM
I am not going to go to war with Sarah Curtis - all of the flailing about being an advocate for her children and her over-charged post are not going to change one thing - I really hope you find a solution for your child/children - I never offered you a better opinion - I did postulate if the source receiving said issues was the right one - You called your self a big mouth ..perhaps squeaky wheel might be more appropriate - but either way hope like Ms. Crowder what ever energy is being used, I truly finds ears or assistance that will fix or finish the issue, whichever is appropriate - I never fear the boisterousness nor do i ever let my emotions wind out on a message board so I will gladly stand down so the forum can return to being a forum rather than a soap box. I will remain in favor of a voteout of every SC Member or a extremely intense vetting of all of the issues reported so that the Attleboro schools can continue upward instead of treading in a muddy mire that remains an embarrassment to the city. Good Day, Ms Curtis
Kevin Curtis August 05, 2012 at 06:16 PM
@jonathan Friedman You can encourage people to email you but you still need to follow through. You had an appoinent with my wife canceled last minute and then we see you the very next night at the Murphy hearing and you don't say one word to us. We had all documents with us. She didn't respond back to your cancelation because this is what happens in this town people say they want to help and then bail last minute or say sorry cant help you, because they don't want to get hands dirty.
Sarah Curtis August 05, 2012 at 06:23 PM
@ the fan..War?? Really grow up! Nice u refer to my child with a disability and our fight a "soap box"! U have proven urself useless...good day to u too!
Kevin Curtis August 05, 2012 at 06:24 PM
@the fan That's the thing you didn't offer anything useful, your only trying to sidewall the issues. As for squeaky wheel, that's what you get called when you expose truth or facts that people want to cover up or ignore. No one ever like the squeaky wheel because there the ones that don't give up, stand for what's right, exposes the truth, and makes noise and people show there true colors. Well guess what were not here to be liked, we're here to be that squeaky wheel. The only embarrassment to this city is the city itself and the people who are running it. Things need to change and people need to be exposed for who they are then the squeaky wheels will be greased.
Jonathan Friedman (Editor) August 05, 2012 at 06:25 PM
Kevin, how would I know you were at the meeting? I do not know what you look like. Something came up and I offered to meet with your wife another time. I am the only person working full-time for this website, things happen. If your wife chooses not to respond when I ask her if we can meet another time, I can't do anything about that. If you, she or anybody else still want to meet, my email is jonathan.friedman@patch.com.
Just sayin' August 06, 2012 at 01:17 AM
I can't agree with you more. I feel for these parents who are watching their children suffer. However this highly charged emotion is why post w/ a handle (pseudonym). If I say something that someone does not like, and they feel very passionately about the issue what prevents them from entering into a search engine "first name, last name, Attleboro MA". Within seconds they have my contact info and my show up at my doorstep. I'm not suggesting that would happen w/ anyone who has posted so far in this thread. It could be done by anyone who was just reading the comments. Safety first in my book. Again, I wish these families the best and hope their passion can be directed towards a resolution and healing.
Sarah Curtis August 06, 2012 at 02:18 AM
@ Just Sayin - Exactly..Safety First! That's what we are trying to provide our child with. Wow... I am appalled that you even suggest I should keep my mouth shut to avoid a knock at my door??? Really... Thanks for looking up my info... it's the same info that is available as public record...Not much I can do about that. I am not afraid of what "could" happen as much as I am about what is happening!!! I understand emotions are hard to read via computer but c'mon that sounded threatening for everyone.
Adam Edward August 06, 2012 at 02:54 AM
Does this have to do with Murphy, I'm confused? I hope the Curits' can find closure and help for there child I couldn't imagine how hard it must be for a parent who believes the shcool isn't doing what it is supposed to be doing. I love living in Attleboro but if I had all the problems with the school that you have I would just move. I'm not suggesting you should have to move to get help for your child I'm just saying sometimes the battle isn't worth the reward. Of course I would do ANYTHING to get justice for my child and wish you both well. I have already started looking at private schools so my children don't have to deal with any of this crap.
Sarah Curtis August 06, 2012 at 04:06 AM
@ Adam thank you very much for ur well wishes. Believe me if moving were the answer it would be so simple but I'm willing to put forth the effort because I know the reward (which is having our child's needs meet) is well worth it! It's the smile on our son's face!! But sadly I hate to report that this is a HUGE problem not just here in Attleboro but in many cities through out the state. And I don't want our son to grow up thinking he wasn't worth the fight so hey mom and dad moved u around till we found a suitable spot. Then he never has a solid foundation or friends which is what his disability is all about!!
bob leroux August 07, 2012 at 12:48 AM
Face the facts. Murphy changed his documents so that he was in compliance with the complaint for July. He had a Boston "RESIDENT" parking pass. You have to prove you are a resident of Boston to get this pass. You do not just get one for having a part-time apartment in Boston. You have to show proof of residence in Boston to get this pass, including a license with your Boston address on this. He was claiming the benefits of a Boston RESIDENT. It is against the law to claim residency in two cities. Murphy has not proved he was an Attleboro Resident at the time he was elected. He has wasted taxpayer money by lying and covering up the truth to the public. He does not care because he does not live here. Why would anyone want a NON RESIDENT making decisions for our children and community. This is a joke. Ms. Crowder I hope you take this as far as it can go. Mr. Murphy is the epitomy of cheat and deceit and should not be allowed to get away with this disgusting and deliberate deceit he is doing to the taxpayers of Attleboro.
disappointed neighbor August 07, 2012 at 12:50 AM
Dave Murphy is hardly ever at his parent's house. This has all been a lie and a cover up. I have never had a problem with the Murphy's, but I cannot believe they would lie like this to the public. I have lost respect for my neighbors.
Joe Borges August 07, 2012 at 01:00 AM
Such lies Mr. Murphy. The election commission needs to investigate this back to when he was elected. Murphy is a joke. Show us proof when you where elected!!! Tell us how you got your Boston parking permit. They do not just give them out. Anyone who only works in Boston and really live in Attleboro knows this. You have committed fraud Mr. Murphy. I hope this catches up with you. Not everyone in Attleboro can be fooled by you. The few that post on this sight in your favor are not the majority. We will make sure the voters remember that you tricked them and should not have ran for school committee. Why would you do this to innocent children?? This does not speak highly of you Mr. Murphy. Just keep making the school committee dysfunctional. You seem to cause all the trouble on school committee and even in the community with your lies and arrogance. You should just step down. Even the people who post here for you know in their hearts that you were not a resident and should not be able to hold you seat. They are just your friends and are trying to support you. The truth is you move out of Mommy's and Daddy's house and got your own apartment in Boston. You got caught in a lie and scratched and clawed to dig your way out. Because you have connections at City Hall, they derailed Ms. Crowder and it gave you time to change everything over for July. This only proves your arrogance. We don't believe you Murphy.
Fedex August 07, 2012 at 01:33 AM
Give it a rest already. Over and done with. Mr.Murphy is one of the educated ones on the board. He explained how and why he had the apt. In town. Move on he s deserves to represent our kids.
Adam Edward August 07, 2012 at 01:08 PM
If you drive a vehicle for more than 30 days a year in Massachusetts you are required to register that vehicle in Massachusetts. So someone who lives in another state but operates a vehicle in Massachusetts for more than 30 days a year would have to register their vehicle in Massachusetts. It is not against the law to have dual residency, it would be if you voted in both cities. Also there is another member of the school commitee that lives in Florida 40% of the time and does business there. Obviously this isn't a problem because she sides with those against Murphy. If Mr. Murphy's license has had an Attleboro address since '99 then how could he show a license with a Boston residence? I like how you said "face the facts" but decided to not know any facts when it comes to dual residency.
Adam Edward August 07, 2012 at 01:12 PM
I like how you say the people who support him are the minority. This was all out in the open before the election and over 4,000 people voted for him then.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »