Outgoing City Councilors Say Goodbye

Duff White, Kimberly Allard and Cherie Felos were honored for their service during their final city council meeting Tuesday night. William Bergevine was also remembered.


Three outgoing Attleboro City Councilors were recognized for their service Tuesday night during their final meeting.

Kimberly Allard, Cherie Felos and Duff White were honored by President Frank Cook and Vice President Walter Thibodeau with a presentation of a plaque and the opportunity to speak.

"This is always one of those nights that is both happy and sad," Cook said. "We’re sad to see people go but we’re happy that they served."

Allard, who is Attleboro's longest standing city councilor after serving 10 years, thanked her family and friends, particularly her sister, Bonnie.

She also thanked her fellow councilors, including William Bergevine,

"I’ve served with some great people," she said. "I was mentored by some great people. Tonight sitting across from me I’m missing a dear friend."

Tuesday night would have been Bergevine's final meeting, as he was beaten for his councilman seat last month. He, along with other former public employees that have recently passed away, were remembered by a moment of silence prior to the meeting.

"You expect to go into a term and end it with everyone still here," Cook somberly said at the close of the meeting.

Jeremy Denlea will serve as the Ward Five Counselor and Jonothan Weydt will serve as the Ward Five Councilman replacing White and Bergevine's seats. Allard and Felos will be replaced as at-large council members by Sara-Lynn Reynolds and James DiLisio.

While Felos said she will be sad to leave, she is proud of her time on the Council and is happy that others will have the opportunity to serve.

"Thank you to those of you who really tried to reach out and mentor me. I really, really appreciate that because I needed a lot of mentoring," she said. "I have really appreciated the opportunity of seeing how this city works."

White, who chaired the committee on transportation and traffic, thanked Police Chief Kyle Heagney and Fire Chief Scott Lachance for working with him during his term. He also thanked Public Works General Manager John Clover.

"Without your help there is little I would have been able to accomplish," he said.

Note: Jeremy Denlea will be serving Ward Five and Jonothan Weydt will serve Ward Four. Originally in the article, the two were switched.

Laura Dolan December 21, 2011 at 08:21 PM
Jeremy Denlea is Ward 5, Bill Bergevine was ward 4.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »